top of page
Search
  • Billy Spendlove

Week 10 Reflection

Considering the amount of disagreement on the direction of the game and its artstyle, this week has come to a good conclusion. With assigned job roles for each team member, it will us focus on an area without disrupting important decision making on elements which don't need all four team members choosing.


As I'm lead designer, I have been focused on the the game and the experience we intend the player to have. It is important for me to maintain that the interactions and involvement the players have in the environment constantly reflect the essential experience. I've learned that listening to all forms of opinion from the team and from the outside is a skill that requires acute attention to reading between the lines of what is being said. An example is Jamie is very worried that the game is going to be boring if the player isn't doing anything. It is up to me to realise that concern and assess what it is to be mindful, whether the game should be a boring experience or if not, how this slow paced, minimal approach can be something very engaging.

I think i'll need to go back to basics and focus on re reading the many game design books I have to build up confidence in the direction for the experience. If the game is going to be boring, it will be because I intended it to be, not because I ignored a vital bit of feedback.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 13 Reflection

Coming to the end of this semester and the design phase of the project, I'm also reflecting on the whole process up to now and where I feel we're at. This week has been mostly focused on rounding up t

Week 12 Reflection

After a holiday break it's great to get back into the mindset for planning our project. In preparation for the hand in, we've been working on creating the research proposal document and presenting the

bottom of page