top of page
Search
  • Billy Spendlove

Week 1 Reflection

Updated: Jan 15, 2020

So starting of the year with this Good Start/Bad Start sounds interesting in such a way to approach finding an idea for a game theme. Prompted with questions in the friday session to get me thinking of topics and areas which I may not originally look into of even conceive as a game theme does inspire me to create something a little more 'out there'.


I like this, it'll challenge me when designing to come at it from this approach of building a game from within a theme rather than focusing on my prefered so-called speciality that is gameplay mechanics.


Creating a long list around these questions, I have decided to focus on those in the list which I am passionate about, thinking this should drive my research and encourage me to drive deeper into the topics. In the friday session, we also wrote out a list of questions on a few of those topics pulled from the original brainstorming. This was mainly to get me to think about other ways of researching and exploring themes. As in science, one answered question will often bring up a number of other questions.


Firstly I want to go through the developed list of these questions and find the passion topics. brainstorming into those and maybe asking some questions, I expect to find a dozen themes come the end of Week 2, start of Week 3. I will also try to visualise many of these passions with moodboards, hopefully prompting other possible ideas.


With the goal of Phase 1 to whittle through the Bad Starts and find a number of Good Starts, at the end of Week 3, presenting 4 out of the dozen that I find myself taken away with. Trying my hardest to remove game ideas from my mind, looking for a subject that I can deeply research and become an expert in.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 13 Reflection

Coming to the end of this semester and the design phase of the project, I'm also reflecting on the whole process up to now and where I feel we're at. This week has been mostly focused on rounding up t

Week 12 Reflection

After a holiday break it's great to get back into the mindset for planning our project. In preparation for the hand in, we've been working on creating the research proposal document and presenting the

bottom of page